The Lord Has Directed Us To Work To Earn Our Own Livelihood

Today in our Church meetings we discussed the need for one to work and the value of work. We talked about how it is important that we work for what we need and want, and that it is just as important to teach our children these values. While many families are doing this, it is also becoming more and more apparent that some individuals are not learning this important lesson in today’s society.

This counsel from President George Albert Smith is just important today as it was when he first taught it many years ago.

The very fact that so much money has been made available to many people gives the youth in some instances the feeling that because money comes relatively easy, honest toil is not necessary or desirable. And yet I am satisfied that no people have ever lived upon the earth who, having failed to earn their livelihood by integrity and industry, have not gone to decay.

If our children grow up in idleness, we know that this is displeasing to the Lord.

How much better off we are when we are occupied with some reasonable work.

Our Heavenly Father … said long, long ago there were idlers in Zion, …and he said, “He that is idle shall not eat the bread nor wear the garments of the laborer.” [D&C 42:42.] I am assuming that he did not mean those who cannot find employment, and who are legitimately trying to take care of themselves. I am assuming that he referred to the habit some people get into of leaning upon their neighbor. … I feel that there has been no justification given to any man in this world to feel that he can depend on somebody else to provide him a livelihood. I did not feel when I was a child that somebody would be compelled to provide me a means of living. The Lord gave me intelligence. He directed that I should work, and I began to work when I was twelve years of age, and I found joy in it, and have earned my living and helped others during more than fifty years.”

Click on this link to read the full lesson and other quotes similar to this one. This also ties in nicely with Ephesians 4:28

28 Let him that stole steal no more: but rather let him labour, working with his hands the thing which is good, that he may have to give to him that needeth.

About Justin

I like to read, play basketball, and exercise. I am a big Star Wars fan and enjoy going to Star Wars Celebrations and Comic-Cons. I prefer DC over Marvel, but enjoy both.
This entry was posted in Mormon Angst and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

